Full House For Film Fest On Road Traffic Safety In Rourkela

OB Bureau

Rourkela: It was a full house during the screening of shortlisted movies for National Road Safety Short Film Festival, 2022, in Rourkela.

The 42 shortlisted films were screened at a local multiplex on June 18 and 19. A total of 230 entries were received from across the country for the contest which was open till June 10. Apart from Odia languages, there are quite a few entries in the Santali language as well from tribal belts of the state. Locals, college students, police personnel, transport department officials and independent filmmakers whose films have been shortlisted for the festival were present at the screening of the films.

“The issues raised in the shortlisted films on the theme of Road Safety are very relatable. I am hopeful this festival will create more awareness about safe driving habits and help us in reducing road accidents and fatalities related to it,” said Rourkela SP Mukesh Kumar Bhamoo.

Two of the jury members for the film festival, actors Sidhanta Mohapatra and Kuna Tripathy, were present at the inaugural function. They appreciated the works of independent filmmakers and appealed to the public to follow road safety rules.

Talking to the media, RTO, Rourkela, Biswaraj Behera said, “The festival offers an unbiased and democratic space to storytellers, who are willing to share their ideas about road safety through the audio-visual medium. Festivals like this will help us spread awareness about Road Safety. I appeal citizens of Rourkela to follow traffic rules and regulations. Together we can make a difference.”

Among others, Transport Commissioner Arun Bothra, ADM, Rourkela, Subhankar Mohapatra and Sundargarh SP Sagarika Nath were also present at the inaugural event.

This first-of-its-kind festival aims to raise awareness of road safety issues and promote increased engagement in road safety cooperation in the state of Odisha as well as across the nation to reduce the road accidents and fatalities related to it. Independent filmmakers whose films have been shortlisted for the festival were overwhelmed with the audience response and appreciated the transport department’s unique initiative.

The festival will culminate at Puri where shortlisted movies will be screened on June 24-25. Winners will be selected by the judging panel, which also includes Entrepreneur Dharitri Patnaik, national award-winning producer Manish Mundra, national award-winning filmmaker & LGBTQIA+ Activist Onir, National Award Winning Filmmaker Rajesh Touchriver, Odia actor & social worker Sabyasachi Mishra, Disability Rights Activist, Founder & Head, Swabhiman Sruti Mohapatra, Secretary, Bakul Foundation & Author Sujit Mahapatra, Executive Director, Sambad Group, Tanaya Patnaik and actor and social activist Varsha Priyadarshini.

OB Bureau

Recent Posts

BJD Workers Getting Land Under Odisha Govt’s Jaga Mission, Claims Congress

Bhubaneswar: Hitting out at Odisha’s BJD government, Congress on Wednesday alleged large-scale irregularities in ‘Jaga…

March 22, 2023

Odisha’s Puppetry Master Maguni Charan Kuanr Receives Padma Shri From President

New Delhi/Bhubaneswar: Odisha’s master puppeteer Maguni Charan Kuanr received the prestigious Padma Shri from President…

March 22, 2023

Rs 29.22 Cr Revamp Plan For Beda Bandha At Odisha’s Berhampur

Berhampur: The Berhampur Municipal Corporation (BeMC), which renovated 28 out of 42 water bodies to meet…

March 22, 2023

Man Gets 20-Year Jail Term For Raping Minor In Odisha’s Jajpur

Jajpur: A man was sentenced to rigorous imprisonment for 20 years by a special POCSO…

March 22, 2023

School Coach, Fired For Praying With Players On Field, Wins Rs 14 Crore In Settlement

New York: A high-school football coach lost his job for praying with his student players.…

March 22, 2023

Odisha Govt Announces Nandita Das’ Film ‘Zwigato’ Tax-Free

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha government on Wednesday announced that Nandita Das-directed film ‘Zwigato’ would be exempted…

March 22, 2023