Indian Grand Prix 4 In Bhubaneswar: Nayana James Pips Ancy Sojan To Win Long Jump Crown

OB Bureau

Bhubaneswar: Nayana James produced two efforts over 6.37m to win the high-profile women’s long jump title in the Indian Grand Prix 4 Athletics Competition at the Kalinga Stadium in Odisha capital on Tuesday evening.

Ancy Sojan, who led after the first two rounds with 6.29m efforts and the fourth round with a 6.35m leap, finished second ahead of World U20 silver medalist Shaili Singh. The Uttar Pradesh teenager, who trains in Bengaluru, came with a best effort of 6.27m in her first meet since the U20 World Athletics Championships in Nairobi in August last year.

The 26-year-old Nayana had a fouled jump of 5.99m on her first two efforts but took the lead in the third round with a 6.30m leap, 1cm more than Ancy’s two best jumps until then. After Ancy responded with a 6.35m effort in the fourth round, Nayana leapt 6.37m twice to seal the title while her 21-year-old team-mate fouled her last two jumps.

From the home fans’ point of view, Amiya Kumar Mallick and Aryan Ekka’s 1-2 in the men’s 100m sprint was pleasing. The Odisha sprinters drew from one another in the second of the four races in the dash. Maharashtra’s Karan Vivek Hegiste was the best of the other sprinters to take the bronze medal.

Other results:
100m (Races A, B, C and D combined): 1. Amiya Kumar Mallick (Odisha) 10.74 seconds; 2. Aryan Ekka (Odisha) 10.86; 3. Karan Vivek Hegiste (Maharashtra) 10.95.
400m (Races A, B, C and D combined): 1. K Saran (Tamil Nadu) 47.42 seconds; 2. Ayush Dabas (Haryana) 47.49; 3. Rashid (Delhi) 48.28.
Discus Throw: 1. Kirpal Singh (Punjab) 59.92m; 2. Ranvir Singh (Uttar Pradesh) 50.36; 3. Ikram Khan (Madhya Pradesh) 48.45.
400m: 1. R Vithya Ramraj (Tamil Nadu) 53.95 seconds; 2. GK Vijayakumari (Karnataka) 54.67; 3. Soniya Baishya (West Bengal) 54.78.
Pole Vault: 1. Baranica Elangovan (Tamil Nadu) 4.05m; 2. Rosy Meena Paulraj (Tamil Nadu) 4.00; 3. Preethika Anandhan (Tamil Nadu) 3.40.
Discus Throw: 1. Navjeet Kaur Dhillon (Punjab) 54.79m; 2. Seema Antil (Uttar Pradesh) 53.57; 3. Nidhi Rani (Haryana) 49.85.

OB Bureau

Recent Posts

Puri Rath Yatra: Three Chariots Of Sibling Deities Reach Gundicha Temple

Puri: All the three chariots of sibling deities of Jagannath temple in Odisha's Puri town…

July 1, 2022

COVID-19 Detection: Now, An Antibody Test Without Blood Sample

Tokyo: An antibody-based method for rapid and reliable detection of coronavirus, without having to take…

July 1, 2022

Udaipur Beheading Accused Paid Extra Money To Get ‘2611’ For His Bike Number Plate

Udaipur: The radical anti-India mindset of those accused of beheading tailor Kanhaiya Lal earlier this…

July 1, 2022

One-Off Test Vs England: What Advice Did Coach Dravid Give New Captain Bumrah?

Birmingham: Jasprit Bumrah became India’s 36th Test captain when he went out for the toss…

July 1, 2022

Odisha Registers 32% Growth In Gross GST Collection In June 2022

Bhubaneswar: Odisha has registered a growth of 32% in collection of gross Goods and Service…

July 1, 2022

Letter Petition Filed Before Chief Justice For Direction To Withdraw Oral Remarks Against Nupur Sharma

New Delhi: A letter petition was filed before the Chief Justice of India on Friday…

July 1, 2022