Nobel Chemistry Prize Goes To Carolyn Bertozzi, Morten Meldal And Barry Sharpless

OB Bureau

New Delhi: The Nobel Prize in chemistry was awarded to Carolyn R. Bertozzi, Morten Meldal and K. Barry Sharpless on Wednesday at the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences in Stockholm for click and bioorthogonal chemistry.

In 2021, the Nobel prize in Chemistry was awarded to scientists Benjamin List and David W.C. MacMillan for discovering an environmentally cleaner way to build molecules while in 2020 the award was given to Emmanuelle Charpentier and Jennifer Doudna for discovering gene technology tool CRISPR/Cas9 genetic scissors.

The Nobel prize announcements kicked off on Monday with Swedish scientist Svante Paabo receiving the award in medicine for his work on Neanderthal DNA.

Frenchman Alain Aspect, American John F. Clauser and Austrian Anton Zeilinger jointly won the prize in physics on Tuesday for their work in quantum physics.

The Nobel Prize for Literature will be given on Thursday, Nobel Peace Prize on Friday and the Economics award on Monday. The Nobel prizes carry a cash award of 10 million Swedish kronor (nearly $900,000) and will be handed out on December 10.

OB Bureau

Recent Posts

First Weather Station Western Odisha! Sambalpur University To Sign MoU With IMD

Sambalpur: Western Odisha will get its first weather station in Odisha’s Sambalpur district. The Sambalpur University will…

November 26, 2022

Veteran Actor Vikram Gokhale Passes Away

Pune: Veteran film and television star Vikram Gokhale passed away here on Saturday afternoon following…

November 26, 2022

Biodiversity Heritage Site Tag For Mahendragiri, Second In Odisha

Bhubaneswar: Mahendragiri in Odisha's Gajapati has been accorded ‘biodiversity heritage site' tag, making it the…

November 26, 2022

Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik Seeks Withdrawal Of GST On Kendu Leaves

Bhubaneswar: Three days after announcing a special package for the welfare of kendu leaf pluckers,…

November 26, 2022

Odisha To Get 5G Services In Next 3 Months, Says Ashwini Vaishnaw

Bhubaneswar: Odisha will get its 5G internet services in the first phase within the next…

November 26, 2022

Rly To Launch Jagannath Circuit In Odisha From Next Year’s Rath Yatra: Ashwini Vaishnaw

Bhubaneswar: The India Railways will launch Jagannath Circuit in Odisha from Rath Yatra in 2023,…

November 26, 2022