None From Odisha In BJP’s 1st List Of Candidates; PM Modi To Contest From Varanasi Again

OB Bureau

New Delhi: Days after BJP’s Central Election Committee (CEC) held a marathon meeting, the saffron party released its first list of candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls.

No Odisha MP figures in the list of 195, from 16 states and 2 UTs, announced on Saturday.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will once again contest from Varanasi, from where he won in 2014 and 2019.

The list, which includes 34 Union ministers and two former chief ministers, features Union Home Minister Amit Shah from Gujarat’s Gandhinagar.

Two other Union ministers will contest in Kerala — Rajeev Chandrasekhar from Thiruvananthapuram and V Muraleedharan from Attingal.

An interesting choice is that of the late Sushma Swaraj’s daughter Basuri Swaraj from New Delhi, replacing Union minister Meenakshi Lekhi.

Former Madhya Pradesh CM Shivraj Singh Chouhan will be BJP’s candidate from Vidisha constituency, while ex-Tripura CM Biplab Kumar Deb will seek to be elected from Tripura West.

Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla will contest from Kota in Rajasthan. Two other prominent candidates from Rajasthan are Union ministers Bhupender Yadav (Alwar) and Gajendra Shekhawat (Jodhpur).

There are 28 women candidates, 47 youth, 27 from Scheduled Caste, 18 from Scheduled Tribes and 57 OBC candidates in BJP’s first list.

OB Bureau

Recent Posts

Odisha Assembly Polls: Prabodh Tirkey Resigns From Cong After Being Replaced As Candidate For Talasara

Bhubaneswar: Former Indian hockey captain Prabodh Tirkey on Saturday resigned from Congress after the party dropped him…

April 20, 2024

Naveen Leads BJD’s List Of 40 Star Campaigners For Dual Elections In Odisha

Bhubaneswar: The BJD on Saturday announced its list of star campaigners for Lok Sabha and…

April 20, 2024

Paris Olympics: Vinesh Phogat, Reetika, Anshu Malik Secure Quotas For India

New Delhi: Celebrated Indian wrestler Vinesh Phogat locked the Paris Olympics quota in women's 50kg…

April 20, 2024

Thundershower Brings Relief From Heatwave In South Coastal Districts Of Odisha

Bhubaneswar: Bringing relief from severe heatwave, several parts of Odisha experienced thunderstorm accompanied by rain…

April 20, 2024

Arvind Kejriwal Does Not Require Insulin: Tihar Jail Officials

New Delhi: AAP leaders have alleged that Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal's health is being…

April 20, 2024

Odisha Registers Highest Inflation In Country, BJP Puts Blame On BJD

Bhubaneswar: The BJP on Saturday targeted the ruling BJD as Odisha registered highest inflation among…

April 20, 2024

[Watch] Who Composed ‘Jai Ho’? This Filmmaker Has Rake Up Controversy

New Delhi: More than a decade after the movie Slumdog Millionaire was released and its…

April 20, 2024

Odisha Polls: Cong Releases List Of Candidates For 3 LS & 16 Assembly Seats

Bhubaneswar: The Congress released the names of its candidates for 3 more Lk Sabha constituencies…

April 20, 2024