Sea Winds Bring Mercury Down In Odisha; Intensity Of Rain To Increase Tomorrow

OB Bureau

Bhubaneswar: The day temperature in Odisha is likely to drop by 2-3 degree Celsius from Friday following a change in the wind pattern, Umasankar Das, meteorologist at India Meteorological Department (IMD), informed.

“The state has been experiencing hot and humid weather conditions for the last three days. Eighteen places had recorded maximum temperature of 35 degree Celsius or more with Sonepur being the hottest at 36.3 degree Celsius yesterday. The sea winds blowing since morning at a speed of 12-15 kmph is now helping to keep the temperature down,” he said.

Also Read: Temperature Remains High In Bhubaneswar, Sonepur Hottest In Odisha

He further informed that light rain/thunderstorm is likely at one or places in Coastal Odisha, Dhenkanal, Angul, Keonjhar, Mayurbhanj, Boudh, and Kalahandi till Saturday morning. “Partly cloudy sky is also seen at some places in Keonjhar, Balasore, Koraput and Rayagada districts. Under its influence, the intensity of rain is likely to increase slightly from tomorrow,” he said.

The IMD has forecast light to moderate rain/ thunderstorm at a few places in North Coastal Odisha, Deogarh, Sundargarh, Boudh, Kalahandi and at one or two places in South Coastal Odisha, Rayagada, Khurda, Koraput, Malkangiri on February 24.

Yellow warning of thunderstorm with lightning has also been sounded for one or two places in Balasore, Bhadrak, Jajpur, Kendrapada, Cuttack, Jagatsinghpur, Mayurbhanj, Keonjhar, Angul, Dhenkanal, Puri, Khurda, Nayagarh, and Boudh.

Das said that rain is likely to continue for six days as dry westerly and north-easterly winds will interact with moisture-laden winds from Bay of Bengal amid an active western disturbance, following which, dry weather conditions will prevail across the state. There will be no large change in the night temperature during the next 3-4 days, he added.


FEB 25: Light to moderate rain/thunderstorm may occur at one or two places in Coastal Odisha, Khurda, Kalahandi, Boudh, Nabarangpur, Rayagada, Koraput, Angul, Dhenkanal, Mayurbhanj, and Keonjhar districts.

FEB 26: Light to moderate rain/ thunderstorm is likely at one or two places in North Odisha, Nuapada , Balangir, Sonepur, and Boudh.

FEB 27: Light to moderate rain/ thunderstorm is also likely at one or two places in North Interior Odisha, Nuapada ,Balangir, Sonepur, and Boudh.

FEB 28: Light to moderate rain/thunderstorm may  occur at one or two places in North Coastal Odisha, Mayurbhanj, Keonjhar, Angul, and Dhenkanal districts.

OB Bureau

Recent Posts

Odisha Assembly Polls: Prabodh Tirkey Resigns From Cong After Being Replaced As Candidate For Talasara

Bhubaneswar: Former Indian hockey captain Prabodh Tirkey on Saturday resigned from Congress after the party dropped him…

April 20, 2024

Naveen Leads BJD’s List Of 40 Star Campaigners For Dual Elections In Odisha

Bhubaneswar: The BJD on Saturday announced its list of star campaigners for Lok Sabha and…

April 20, 2024

Paris Olympics: Vinesh Phogat, Reetika, Anshu Malik Secure Quotas For India

New Delhi: Celebrated Indian wrestler Vinesh Phogat locked the Paris Olympics quota in women's 50kg…

April 20, 2024

Thundershower Brings Relief From Heatwave In South Coastal Districts Of Odisha

Bhubaneswar: Bringing relief from severe heatwave, several parts of Odisha experienced thunderstorm accompanied by rain…

April 20, 2024

Arvind Kejriwal Does Not Require Insulin: Tihar Jail Officials

New Delhi: AAP leaders have alleged that Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal's health is being…

April 20, 2024

Odisha Registers Highest Inflation In Country, BJP Puts Blame On BJD

Bhubaneswar: The BJP on Saturday targeted the ruling BJD as Odisha registered highest inflation among…

April 20, 2024

[Watch] Who Composed ‘Jai Ho’? This Filmmaker Has Rake Up Controversy

New Delhi: More than a decade after the movie Slumdog Millionaire was released and its…

April 20, 2024

Odisha Polls: Cong Releases List Of Candidates For 3 LS & 16 Assembly Seats

Bhubaneswar: The Congress released the names of its candidates for 3 more Lk Sabha constituencies…

April 20, 2024