Centre Bans Sale, Import Of 23 ‘Ferocious’ Dog Breeds, Check The Full List Here

New Delhi: Amid rising incidents of deaths in pet dog attacks, the Centre has banned sale and breeding of 23 breeds of ferocious mixed and crossbreed dogs.

A directive was issued to the states and union territories in this regard on Wednesday.

The banned breeds include Pitbull terrier, Tosa Inu, American Staffordshire Terrier, Dila Brasileiro, Dogo Argentino, American Bulldog, Boerboel, Kangal, Central Asian shepherd dog and Caucasian shepherd Dog.


➤Pitbull Terrier

➤Tosa Inu

➤American Staffordshire Terrier

➤Fila Brasileiro

➤Dogo Argentino

➤American Bulldog



➤Central Asian Shepherd Dog

➤Caucasian Shepherd Dog

➤South Russian Shepherd Dog

➤Tornjak, Sarplaninac

➤Japanese Tosa and Akita




➤Rhodesian Ridgeback

➤Wolf Dogs



➤Moscow Guard

➤Cane Corso


The central directive, however, states that those who already own these breeds of dogs should get them sterilised to prevent further breeding.

The decision was taken by an expert committee, chaired by the commissioner of Animal Husbandry, following an appeal by People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals (PETA) India. “This order is key toward providing vital protection for both humans and dogs and sends a strare commonly bred to be used in illegal fighting or kept on heavy chains as attack dogs, resulting in a lifetime of suffering,” ANI quoted Shaurya Agarwal, PETA India Advocacy Associate, as saying.

Additionally, the panel has also recommended prohibiting the import of such dog breeds. “…the above dog breeds, including crossbreeds, shall be prohibited for import, breedings, selling as pet dogs and other purposes.”



Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.