First Time In History Of International Cricket, Lanka Batsman Mathews Timed Out; Know Why
New Delhi: There’s not much to play for but bragging rights in Monday’s ODI World Cup match between Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.
There was some doubt whether the match could be held at all, given the severe air pollution situation in the national Capital.
But visibility was good and the match got underway on time. And there was major drama at Arun Jaitley Stadium in the 25th over.
Sri Lankan batsman Angelo Mathews was timed out by on-field umpires Marais Erasmus and Richard Illingworth.
The former Sri Lankan captain thus became the first batter to be dismissed in such a manner in the 146-year history of international cricket.
Mathews came out to bat after Sadeera Samarawickrama was dismissed to the second ball of the 25th over. The new batter reached the crease and then held up play by asking for a change of helmet as the strap appeared to have been broken.
The Bangladesh fielders and bowler Shakib Al Hasan were ready in their places, only to be kept waiting. They inquired with the umpires as to what was going on and actually appealed for a dismissal.
The umpires had a discussion before ruling Mathews timed out as he was not ready to take strike two minutes after the dismissal of the previous batsman, as per cricket’s rules.
Samarawickrama was dismissed at 3.49 pm, while Mathews being declared out at 3.54 pm, according to ESPNcricinfo. Hence, the umpires gave the batsman more than two minutes’ grace before ruling him out.
A stunned Mathews argued with the umpires, repeatedly pointing at his helmet strap, suggesting that it had broken after he had reached the crease, and a replacement was necessary.
Dramatic scenes in Delhi with Angelo Mathews becoming the first batter to be timed out in international cricket 👀
— ICC Cricket World Cup (@cricketworldcup) November 6, 2023
He also had a word with Bangladesh captain Shakib, but the latter was in no mood to give Mathews a ‘reprieve’.
The umpires also stuck to their decision, and an annoyed Mathews was forced to leave the field.
The Timed Out rule
“40.1 Out Timed out 40.1.1 After the fall of a wicket or the retirement of a batter, the incoming batter must, unless Time has been called, be ready to receive the ball or for the other batter to be ready to receive the next ball within 2 minutes of the dismissal or retirement. If this requirement is not met, the incoming batter will be out, Timed out,” states the rule which governed Mathews historic dismissal.
Bangladesh were within their rights to appeal, and the umpires had to give him out. For a cricketer as experienced as Mathews – he is playing his 224th ODI – he should have known the 2-minute rule.
On the other hand, some will point out that Bangladesh should have called Mathews back to uphold the spirit of cricket.