New Chief Justice Of Orissa High Court Takes Oath

Bhubaneswar: Justice S Muralidhar took oath as the Chief Justice of Orissa High Court on Monday.

He was administered the oath of office by Governor Ganeshi Lal at Raj Bhawan.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik took to Twitter to congratulate Justice Muralidhar on his appointment as the Chief Justice of Orissa High Court. “Welcome him to #Odisha and wish him a successful tenure,” the CM tweeted.

Justice Muralidhar is the 32nd Chief Justice of Orissa High Court. He succeeded Justice Mohammad Rafiq, who has been appointed as the new Chief Justice of the Madhya Pradesh High Court.

On Sunday, Justice Muralidhar was given a guard of honour at the state guest house in the Odisha capital after his arrival in the city.

Earlier on December 31, President Ram Nath Kovind had appointed Justice Muralidhar of Punjab and Haryana High Court as the new Chief Justice of Orissa High Court.

Justice Muralidhar enrolled as an advocate on September 12, 1984 and practised in civil courts in Chennai, Delhi High Court and Supreme Court. He dealt with civil, criminal, constitutional, labour, election, arbitration, PIL, human rights, company, taxation and service matters.

He worked as counsel for Election Commission of India, National Human Rights Commission, Central Vigilance Commission and University Grants Commission and as member of Supreme Court Legal Services Committee from 2000 to 2004.

He was appointed as Additional Judge of Delhi High Court on May 29, 2006 and as Permanent Judge on August 29, 2007. He was transferred to Punjab and Haryana High Court on March 6, 2020.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.