Odisha Flood: 12 Districts, 4.67 Lakh People Affected; Check Details

Bhubaneswar: Twelve districts of Odisha have been affected by the floods while another six districts have been affected by heavy rainfall, as per preliminary assessment of the state government.

The 12 flood-affected districts are Angul, Bargarh, Boudh, Cuttack, Jagatsinghpur, Jajpur, Kendrapada, Khurda, Nayagarh, Puri, Sambalpur and Subarnapur. The six rain-affected districts are Balangir, Jharsuguda, Kandhamal, Keonjhar, Koraput and Nabarangpur.

In the flood-affected districts, 53,866 people have been evacuated so far. The floods have affected 1,757 villages in these 12 districts, affecting more than 4.67 lakh people. More than 2.26 lakh people have been marooned in 425 villages, while 1,444 houses have been damaged.

Special Relief Commissioner (SRC) Pradeep Kumar Jena said the peak flood phase is on, and that while the situation is critical it is under control. “Today (Wednesday) night remains critical, so everyone (people in the Mahanadi basin) need to be watchful,” he said.

Jena said that 60 wards in 10 Urban Local Bodies have been affected by the floods.

“We are running free kitchens for a population of 60,000 in the flood-affected areas. Adequate number of polythene sheets have been stocked in view of the fresh low pressure area warning,” he added.

Mini mineral water plants have been installed in Jagatsinghpur, Puri, Kendrapara and Cuttack districts.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.