Odisha’s Sukumar Mishra Is New Director Of IIT-Dhanbad; Know More About This NIT-Rourkela Alumnus

OB Bureau

New Delhi: Sukumar Mishra from Odisha is among the new directors appointed by Union Education Ministry for six IITs across the country.

Mishra, who has been appointed as director, IIT-Dhanbad, is currently serving as dean, research and external engagement, IIT-Delhi-Abu Dhabi campus. He was a professor in the department of electrical engineering at IIT-Delhi and also worked as associate dean, R&D of the institute from March 1, 2020 to March 31, 2023.

He completed his MTech and PhD in electrical engineering from the National Institute of Technology, Rourkela, (NIT-Rourkela) in 1992 and 2000, respectively.

Mishra has won several accolades including Young Scientist Award by Orissa Bigyan Academy in 1999 when he was serving as a lecturer in Electrical Engineering, University College of Engineering, Burla; the INSA Medal for Young Scientist in 2002; the INAE Young Engineer Award in 2002; the INAE Silver Jubilee Young Engineer Award in 2012; the Samanta Chandra Shekhar Award in 2016; the Bimal Bose Award in 2019; the National Academy of Sciences (NASI)-Reliance Platinum Jubilee Award in 2019; the National Mission Innovation Championship Award in 2019, and the INAE Outstanding Teachers Award in 2021.

Mishra also earned the credit to become the youngest fellow in the electrical engineering section of INAE at the age of 38 in the year 2009. He has been granted fellowship from academies like NASI, India, INAE, India, and professional societies like IET, UK, Institution of Electronics and Telecommunication Engineers (IETE), India, and Institution of Engineers (IE), India. He has also been recognised as the INAE Industry Academic Distinguish Professor.

His research expertise lies in the field of Power Systems, Power Quality Studies, Renewable Energy and Smart Grid.

Besides Mishra, the Ministry on Thursday appointed Manindra Agrawal, Avinash Agarwal, Devendra Jalihal, Dhirendra S Katti and Amit Patra as directors at IIT-Kanpur, IIT-Jodhpur, IIT-Guwahati, IIT-Goa and IIT-BHU, respectively.

OB Bureau

Recent Posts

Odisha Elections 2024: Samir Das’ Role Decisive In Nimapara

Bhubaneswar: After winning three consecutive Assembly elections from Nimapara, senior leader Samir Ranjan Das is…

May 27, 2024

Final Count: Odisha Records 74.45% Voter Turnout In 3rd Round Of Polling; Sambalpur Highest

Bhubaneswar: Odisha recoded a voter turnout of more than 74% in the third-round elections to…

May 26, 2024

IPL Final: Rajkummar, Janhvi, Shah Rukh Cheer KKR To Their Third Title

Chennai: Co-owner Shah Rukh Khan has been a permanent fixture at Kolkata Knight Riders’ matches…

May 26, 2024

Odisha Elections 2024: BJP To Launch Power-Packed Campaign From Tomorrow

Bhubaneswar: In a last boost to BJP's prospects in dual elections in Odisha, a team…

May 26, 2024

KKR On Course After Bowling Out Sunrisers Hyderabad For Lowest-Ever Total In IPL Final

Chennai: Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) closed in on a fourth IPL title after bowling out Sunrisers…

May 26, 2024

Cyclone Remal: Bengal Braces For Landfall; PM Modi Chairs Meet; Raj Bhavan Open For Public

Kolkata: As West Bengal braced for maximum impact from the impending Cyclone Remal, which intensified…

May 26, 2024

Another Leopard Hide Seized, 5 Persons Arrested In Odisha’s Nuapada

Nuapada: Forest officials have seized another leopard hide and arrested five persons in this connection…

May 26, 2024

Organs Of Brain-Dead Child At SUM Hospital Harvested To Save 2 Lives

Bhubaneswar: The parents of a brain-dead boy donated his organs to save two other lives.…

May 26, 2024