President Appoints Justice S Muralidhar As Chief Justice Of Orissa High Court

New Delhi: President Ram Nath Kovind on Thursday appointed Justice Dr S Muralidhar of Punjab and Haryana High Court as Chief Justice of Orissa High Court.


A notification issued by Department of Justice said the President of India, in exercise of the power conferred by the Constitution of India, appointed the Chief Justices of the Orissa, Telangana, Madras and Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh high courts.

Justice Hima Kohli of Delhi High Court has been appointed as Chief Justice of Telangana, Justice Sanjeeb Banerjee of Calcutta High Court as Chief Justice of Madras High Court and Justice Pankaj Mithal of Allahabad HIgh Court as Chief Justice of Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh High Court.

Justice S Muralidhar enrolled as an advocate on September 12, 1984 and practised in civil courts in Chennai, Delhi High Court and Supreme Court. He dealt with civil, criminal, constitutional, labour, election, arbitration, PIL, human rights, company, taxation and service matters.

He worked as counsel for Election Commission of India, National Human Rights Commission, Central Vigilance Commission and University Grants Commission and as member of Supreme Court Legal Services Committee from 2000 to 2004.

He was appointed as Additional Judge of Delhi High Court on May 29, 2006 and as Permanent Judge on August 29, 2007. He was transferred to Punjab and Haryana High Court on March 6, 2020.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.