Rajiv Kumar Appointed 25th Chief Election Commissioner of India

New Delhi: President Ram Nath Kovind on Thursday appointed Rajiv Kumar, the senior-most Election Commissioner, as the new Chief Election Commissioner.

He will assume charge from May 15 after incumbent Sushil Chandra demits office on May 14, an official notification said.

In a tweet, union law minister Kiren Rijiju said: “In pursuance of clause (2) of article 324 of the Constitution, the President is pleased to appoint Shri Rajiv Kumar as the Chief Election Commissioner with effect from the 15th May, 2022. My best wishes to Shri Rajiv Kumar. (sic).”

A retired Indian Administrative Services (IAS) officer of the 1984 Jharkhand cadre, he replaced Election Commissioner Ashok Lavasa in August 2020.

Kumar served as the union finance secretary from September 2017 to February 2020. He was then appointed as Chairperson of the Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions.



Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.