2 Newly-Appointed Orissa High Court Judges Sworn In

Cuttack: Chief Justice of Orissa High Court Subhasis Talapatra on Tuesday administered oath to two new judges – Sibo Sankar Mishra and Ananda Chandra Behera.

On September 2, the Centre notified the appointment of Mishra, Advocate-on-Record, and Behera, Senior Judicial Officer, as judges of Orissa High Court. The Collegium of the Supreme Court, comprising Chief Justice of India DY Chandrachud, Justice SK Kaul and Justice Sanjiv Khanna, had recommended their names for the appointment on August 17, 2023.

Mishra began his career in 1991 and specialises in civil, criminal and service law. He was an advocate-on-record in Supreme Court for the Odisha government. Behera, on the other hand, served as a judicial officer in different capacities over the years.

With this, the number of judges in the state’s top court has reached 22 against the sanctioned strength of 33. It will come down to 20 again upon the retirements of Justice Biswanath Rath on September 6 and the Chief Justice on October 3. Justice Talapatra succeeded Justice S Muralidhar as the 33rd Chief Justice of Orissa High Court on August 8.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.