2018 BWF World Tour Finals: Sindhu Creates History With 1st Title

PV Sindhu became the first player from India to win BWF World Tour Finals, earlier known as Super Series Finals at Guangzhou, China. She defeated 2nd seed and 2015 World Super Series Final champion Nozomi Okuhara in the final.


2017 Runners up, PV Sindhu started the tournament by avenging her defeat in 2017 finals by beating defending champion Akane Yamaguchi. She followed it with the first win of Pool by defeating World N0. 1 Tai Tzing Yi. She finished on top of the Pool with the win against Beiwen Zhang.

PV Sindhu, in her third appearance entered her second consecutive final. In her first appearance at 2016, she entered semifinals finishing 2nd in group with 1 loss. In 2017, she won 4 and lost final. In 2018, she won all 5 matches till the title.


    1. Pool: Finished on top with all wins

1. Defeated Akane Yamaguchi 24-22 21-15

2. Defeated Tai Tzing Yi 14-21 21-16 21-18

3. Defeated Beiwen Zhang 21-9 21-15

Semifinal: Defeated Ratchanok Intanon 21-16 25-23

Final: 2nd seed Nozomi Okuhara 21-19 21-17

Sameer Verma reached the semifinals in Men’s Singles.

(Info Courtesy: www.newschoupal.com)

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.