5 BJP Supporters Injured In Clash Over Celebratory Fireworks In Odisha’s Keonjhar

Keonjhar: While Keonjhar MLA Mohan Charan Majhi was taking oath as Odisha Chief Minister on Wednesday evening, five BJP supporters were critically injured as violence broke out during celebratory fireworks at a village in the district.

As per sources, the incident took place at Dhanurjaipur village under Hatadihi block in the district after two groups clashed over fireworks being done to celebrate the swearing-in of the first BJP government in the state.

While four supporters were injured in the clash, another was reportedly hit by a firecracker.

As the fireworks were on, a villager named Silai Birua and his son asked the BJP supporters to stop bursting crackers. This led to a dispute between two groups and Silai was allegedly assaulted by some BJP supporters.

In retaliation, a group of villagers attacked the BJP supporters and thrashed them, causing injuries to at least four persons.

The injured, identified as Biswajit Raut, Narayan Samal, Ashok Jena, and Ganguly Birua, were admitted to the Agarpada Community Healthcare Center (CHC). Subsequently, Narayan Samal was was shifted to the SCB Medical College and Hospital in Cuttack.

On being informed, the local police reached the village and launched an investigation into the matter. A case has also been registered based on a complaint lodged by Biswajit Raut.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.