6 New Projects With Rs 1,752 Cr Investment Approved For Mining Affected Areas In Odisha

Bhubaneswar: Six new projects with an estimated investment of Rs 1,752 crore were approved at the Board of Directors meeting of the Odisha Mineral Areas Development Corporation (OMBADC) on Wednesday.

Presiding the meeting held on digital mode in Bhubaneswar, chief secretary Suresh Chandra Mahapatra directed to include more projects to ensure sustainable livelihood and skill development in mining affected areas. Various departments were asked to sponsor more projects having direct linkage with income generation and enhancement of livelihood opportunities. OMBADC was directed to take up skill development projects for youths from mining affected areas in collaboration with skill development department.

It was revealed at the meeting that cent per cent of the housing, drinking water and social forestry projects sanctioned during first phase from ad-hoc CAMPA have been completed and commissioned.

Additional chief secretary, Forest and Environment Satyabrata Sahu outlined the issues and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) G Rajesh presented the updates along with new project proposals for discussion. Rajesh said Rs 869.42 crore was received from ad-hoc CAMPA. “As of now, all projects funded by Ad-Hoc CAMPA under housing, drinking water and social forestry have been completed, while more than 80% achievement accomplished in the Skill Development project,” he said.  

Review showed that under compensation money funds, the OMBADC had fund of Rs 19823 crore including the interest. Against this, the Board had earlier approved 47 need-based projects proposed by 16 departments amounting to Rs 15870.50 crore.

The following projects were approved at the meeting:

  • Natural Farming for year round crop in 36 Blocks of Keonjhar, Mayurbhanj and Sundargarh districts  amounting to Rs 250.72 crore for benefit of 2,49,021 farmers in 216 panchayats
  • Piped Water Supply scheme for 787 villages in 11 blocks of Mayurbhanj amounting to Rs. 856.87 crore
  • Establishment of Comprehensive Rehabilitation Centre in Mayurbhanj and Keonjhar districts amounting to Rs 106.36 crore
  • Construction of all-weather connectivity roads in 23 blocks of Ghatagaon block amounting to Rs 19.64 crore
  • Infrastructure development in Maharaja Sriram Chandra Bhanja Deo University amounting to Rs 29 crore
  • Improving quality of education in 36 Odisha Adarsh Vidyalayas amounting to Rs 489.53 crore

Development Commissioner Pradeep Kumar Jena; Principal Secretary, Steel and Mines Deo Ranjan Kumar Singh; Principal Secretary, Finance Vishal Kumar Dev; Principal Secretary, Panchayati Raj and Drinking Water PCCF (HoFF) Debibutta Biswal, senior board members from Central Government and different State Government departments participated in discussion.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.