Afghanistan Knocks Australia Out Of T20 World Cup After India’s 24-Run Crunch Win

Bhubaneswar: Afghanistan crushed Australia’s T20 World Cup hopes by securing a dramatic 8-run DLS win over Bangladesh in a rain-affected match at the Arnos Vale Stadium in St Vincent on Tuesday.

The final line-up for the semi-final after the the last game in the Super Eight stage – South Africa, England, India and Bangladesh.

Afghanistan had kept the race for the semi-finals in Group 1 wide open with an upset victory over Australia and reach their maiden ICC-event semifinal with the win against Bangladesh in their final Super Eights match while defending a revised modest target of 114 runs in 19 overs in a bowler-friendly pitch after three rain stoppages. Afghanistan’s bowlers, however, dismissed Bangladesh 105 runs in 17.5 overs with captain Rashid Khan and Naveen-ul-Haq scalping 4 wickets each.

The win solidified Afghanistan’s position as the second team from Group 1 to advance, eliminating both Australia and Bangladesh.

The Aussies were facing anxious wait after India sealed their spot in the semi-finals after Rohit Sharma’s scintillating 92 off just 41 deliveries led India to a 24-run win in St Lucia. Rohit clobbered eight sixes and seven fours for one of the all-time great knocks at a T20 World Cup and helped India get to a score of 205/5 in 20 overs. In response, Australia managed 181-7 despite a a proper go, largely thanks to Travis Head and his 81-run stand with captain Mitch Marsh in just 48 balls.

David Warner fell to Arshdeep Singh in the first over in what could possibly be his last international appearance for Australia. The match also saw a sensational one-handed catch by Axar Patel to dismiss Marsh after he slammed a delivery from Kuldeep Yadav firmly towards deep square leg in the ninth over. Kuldeep and Axar helped India claw their way ahead in the middle overs, dismissing Maxwell and Marcus Stoinis respectively. Head continued to anchor the innings, scoring an impressive 76 runs off 43 balls, before being deceived with a slower ball by Jasprit Bumrah in the 17th over, which proved to be a turning point in the match and the Aussies fell short by 24 runs despite their best effort.

On the bowling front, Arshdeep (3-37) and Kuldeep 2-24) played pivotal roles for India.

Rohit Sharma’s side will play in Guyana against defending champions England at 8 pm on June 27. Afghanistan will face South Africa in Trinidad the same day at 6 am. The final will be played at 8 pm on June 29.


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.