Asia Cup Super 4: Pakistan Pip India By 5 Wickets In Another Last-Over Finish

Dubai: Just like their previous clash a week ago, Sunday’s Asia Cup Super 4 clash went down to the wire. And it was Pakistan who came up trumps this time, surviving some anxious moments before handing arch-rivals India a 5-wicket defeat with just 1 ball to spare.

Chasing a target of 182, Pakistan overcame a slow start after left-hander Mohammad Nawaz joined Mohammad Rizwan at the crease following the fall of second wicket. India seemed to be slightly ahead at that stage, with Pakistan 63/2 after 8.4 overs.

But in a brilliant exhibition of power hitting, Nawaz smashed 42 off 20 balls, hitting 6 fours and 2 sixes.

Mr Consistent Rizwan and India’s nemesis (71 off 51) helped himself to another half-century as the duo added 73 runs in 7 overs.

There were a few hiccups as India tried to claw their way back. Arshdeep Singh dropped a crucial catch, while the experienced Bhuvneshwar leaked 19 runs in the penultimate over, which ultimately hurt India.

The Indian batters earlier flattered to deceive, throwing away a rapid start after Pakistan captain Babar Azam won the toss and opted to bowl first.

Skipper Rohit Sharma was off the blocks quickly and KL Rahul got into his rhythm as well, as India raced to 54 in 5 overs and 62/1 at the end of power play.

Rohit (28 off 16 balls) and Rahul (28 off 20) fell within the space of an over, slowing down the run rate.

Virat Kohli looked to be in good nick, scoring his second successive half-century. But wickets kept tumbling at the other end, preventing India from accelerating in the death overs.

Kohli was run out for 60 (off 44 balls) with two balls remaining, but India finished about 20 runs short of what they looked to be headed for at the halfway stage.

Having scored 93 in the first 10 overs, India managed just 88 runs in the second half of the innings.

Brief scores: India 181/7 in 20 overs (V Kohli 60; Shadab Khan 2/31). Pakistan 182/5 in 19.5 overs (M Rizwan 71, M Nawaz 42; Ravi Bishnoi 1/26, Arshdeep 1/27).

Result: Pakistan won by 5 wkts.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.