Bibhu Prasad Routray Takes Oath As Orissa HC Judge


Cuttack: Senior Judicial officer Bibhu Prasad Routray took oath as a permanent judge of the Orissa High Court on Friday.

Routray was administered the oath of office and secrecy by the Chief Justice KS Jhaveri at a swearing-in function at the High Court conference hall in the afternoon.

The appointment of Routray has come through a Rashtrapati Bhawan communiqué after the recommendation of the Supreme Court Collegium and the approval of the Law ministry.

Prior to this appointment, Routray was posted as the District and Sessions Judge in Berhampur.

Notably, the Chief Justice of the Orissa High Court on May 7 this year had sent the name of eight lawyers including Sanjib Kumar Panigrahi to the Supreme Court and recommended the name of Routray, Satyanarayan Mishra, Goutam Sharma and Biranchi Narayan Mohanty as the permanent  High Court judges.

Later, the Supreme Court Collegium comprising the then Chief Justice Ranjan Gogoi, Justice SA Bobde (presently the Chief Justice) and Justice NV Ramanna had recommended the name of Routray and Sanjib Kumar Panigrahi as the permanent HC Judges on October 3.

Meanwhile, another permanent HC Judge Justice Akshaya Kumar Rath, who will retire on November 12, was given a farewell by the lawyers of the Orissa High Court Bar Association at a function on Thursday. Rath was appointed as the permanent HC Judge on June 20, 2013.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.