Biju Patnaik Awards Conferred On Athletes, Two Brave Girls In Odisha

Bhubaneswar: Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Saturday presented Biju Patnaik Sports Award to outstanding sportspersons and coaches on the occasion of National Sports Day through video-conferencing here on Saturday.

Para-athlete Jayanti Behera and ace hockey player Deep Grace Ekka were felicitated with Biju Patnaik Sports Award for outstanding performance in sports and games. Both of them received Rs 2 lakh cash award each.

Similarly Biju Patnaik Bravery Award was received by Purnima Giri and Sabita Giri who received cash award of Rs one lakh each, medal and citation. Biju Patnaik Sports Award for excellence in coaching went to Satya Ranjan Patnaik. He received cash award of Rs one lakh.

Besides, Siba Prasad Das received a cash award of Rs 32,50,000 for coaching to sportspersons with disability. Among others, Padmini Rout, Hupi Majhi, Rajashree Mohapatra, Manisha Merel and Pratyasha Ray also received cash awards.

Speaking on the occasion, the Chief Minister said, “Today we are celebrating National Sports Day on the birth anniversary of Indian Hockey legend Dhyan Chand. I pay my sincere tributes to the wizard of Indian hockey on this occasion. My greetings to all the sportspersons and sports lovers across the State on this great occasion. I congratulate all the award winners on this occasion.”

“I congratulate the two young girls of Kendrapada who have received the Bravery Award for showing such exceptional courage and saving many lives. They are indeed a shining example of selfless service and an inspiration for the youth,” Naveen said.

Stating that Odisha has become a major centre of sports activities in the last few years, he said, “Today Odisha is known globally as a hub of hockey and we are going to host yet another edition of Hockey World Cup in 2023.”

Sports & YS Minister Tusharkanti Behera, former Indian Hockey captain and MP Dillip Tirkey also spoke. Vishal Dev, Commissioner-cum-Secretary Sports; Director, Sports R. Vineel Krishna; Chief Secretary Asit Tripathy; Development Commissioner Suresh Mahapatra and Secretary to CM (5-T) V K Pandian were present among others.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.