BJD MP Mamata Mohanta Included In Panel Of RS Vice-Chairpersons

Bhubaneswar: Mamata Mohanta, the Rajya Sabha MP from Odisha’s BJD, has been included in the panel of vice-chairpersons.

Vice-President Jagdeep Dhankhar, who is Chairman of the Rajya Sabha, on Monday announced that the panel of vice-chairpersons has been reconstituted with 50% of women parliamentarians.

The eight-member panel will now have four women members including BJP MPs Kanta Kardam, Sumitra Balmik and Geeta alias Chandraprabha and BJD’s Mamata Mohanta.

He made the announcement in the Upper House on the first day of the special session of the Parliament.

“The House members are informed that the panel of vice-chairpersons has been reconstituted with effect from September 13, 2023. The members will be happy to note that 50% of the vice-chairpersons happen to be women,” said Dhankhar.

Announcing the names of new panel of vice-chairpersons with 50 per cent women MPS, Dhankhar also said the number of woman MPs in the panel may go higher in future.

The vice-chairpersons are eligible to preside over the House in the absence of the chairman or the deputy chairman.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.