BJP Announces Candidate For Padampur Bypoll In Odisha

Bhubaneswar: Former MLA Pradip Purohit is the BJP nominee for the bypoll to Padmpaur Assembly constituency in Odisha’s Bargarh district next month, party’s senior leader Kusum Tete informed on Friday.

He will file his nomination papers on November 14, she added.

Purohit had won the seat in 2014 and lost to Bijaya Ranjan Singh Bariha, whose death necessitated the by-election, by 5,734 votes in 2019. Upbeat after the Dhamnagar win, the saffron party is hoping for an encore in Padampur.

The ruling BJD and Congress are yet to announce their candidates.

Also Read: Padampur Bypoll In Odisha: Who Will Get BJD Ticket?

The bypoll is scheduled to be held on December 5. December 8 has been fixed for the counting of votes.


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.