Blockbuster Clash: India, Pakistan To Face Off In T20 World Cup

With bilateral series between India and Pakistan having stopped, the arch rivals get the chance to confront each other on the cricket field only in multi-team ICC events.

Their next clash will be at the ICC T20 World Cup, to be held at UAE and Oman in October-November. As per the groupings released on Friday, India and Pakistan have been placed in Group 2 of the Super 12 stage. The other four teams in their group are New Zealand, Afghanistan, Winner Group B and Runner-up Group A.

Group 1, on the other hand, comprises England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, Winner Group A and Runner-up Group B.

Groups A and B will comprise four teams each, who will compete in the first round of the competition. The top two in these groups will qualify for the Super 12 stage.

Indian fans, indeed the entire cricketing world, will be waiting with bated breath for the India-Pakistan fixture.

Team India has a cent per cent record against Pakistan in World Cup, both in 50-over and T20 formats, having won all their seven contests so far.

India’s only T20 World Cup title was won at the expense of Pakistan, in 2007.

The West Indies won the previous T20 World Cup, staged in India in 2016, and is the only team to have lifted the trophy twice.


Round 1

Group A: Sri Lanka, Ireland, the Netherlands and Namibia

Group B: Bangladesh, Scotland, Papua New Guinea and Oman

Super 12s

Group 1: England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, A1 and B2.

Group 2: India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, A2 and B1.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.