Brajrajnagar Bypoll In Odisha: 5 Union Ministers Figure In BJP’s Star Campaigners’ List

Bhubaneswar: The BJP has released a list of 40 star campaigners for byelection to Brajarajnagar Assembly constituency in Jharsuguda.

As per the list submitted to Election Commission of India by the BJP, as many as 5 Union ministers will campaign in support of its candidate in the byelection. They are Piyush Goel, Dharmendra Pradhan, Pralhad Joshi, Aswini Viashnaw and Biseswar Tudu.

The other prominent leaders who will campaign during the bypoll include its Odisha president Sameer Mohanty, state in-charge D Purandeswari, national vice-president Baijayant Panda, Bhubaneswar MP Aparajita Sarangi, former Union minister Pratap Sarangi, MP Suresh Pujari and former Chhattisgarh chief minister Raman Singh.

While BJP has announced the name of former Brajrajnagar MLA Radharani Panda as its candidate, ruling BJD has fielded Alka Mohanty, the wife of deceased MLA from the seat Kishore Kumar Mohanty, and Congress nominee is former Assembly Speaker Kishore Chandra Patel.

Earlier, the Congress had released its list of 40 star campaigners including Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel and youth leader Kanhaiya Kumar. The ruling BJD is yet announce its prominent campaigners.

As per the notification of State Election Commission, the byelection will be held on May 31. The last date for withdrawal of nominations is May 17. The counting of votes has been scheduled for June 3.

As per the voter list of January 1, 2022, total 2,14,261 voters are eligible to exercise their franchise in the bypoll. While there were 257 polling booths in the last election, the administration plans to open 22 more booths this time.

The byelection has been necessitated due to death of Brajarajnagar MLA of BJD Kishore Kumar Mohanty on December 30 last year.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.