Cricket: Rohit Sharma Becomes The Leading T-20 Scorer


Auckland: Rohit Sharma on Friday became the highest scorer in the T-20 format, as India beat the Kiwis to level the three match series 1-1.

Sharma, with 2,288 runs, overtook New Zealand batsman Martin Guptill, who has 2,272 runs, to become the leading run-scorer in the shortest format of the game and broke several other records during his knock at Eden Park.

With 20 fifty-plus scores in T20 internationals, Rohit Sharma now also holds the record for most such scores in T20. His fifty in the second T20 helped him go past Virat Kohli, who has 19. He also became just the third cricketer to hit 100 T20 sixes.

Only two cricketers have hit more T20 sixes than Rohit Sharma. He has 102 sixes now while Chris Gayle and Guptill both have 103.

The batsman has another shot at history as he has an opportunity to become the first India captain to win a T20 series in New Zealand.

Although Rohit was dismissed for a 29-ball fifty at Auckland match on Friday, he made quite an impact before he got out in India’s chase of 159 to level the T20 series.

India took control of the match in the first 10 overs of the New Zealand innings. After that, apart from a period in which Coln de Grandhomme went ballistic, the visitors never really ceded their ground.

New Zealand set a target of 159 that India chased down with seven wickets and as many balls to spare. Krunal Pandya wiped away the New Zealand top order and Rohit Sharma put India along the victory march with a 29-ball 50. The series is now level 1-1.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.