Debashis Das, Manish Kumar Win Bronze Medals In Commonwealth Chess Championships

Bhubaneswar: Odisha’s chess champions, Debashis Das and Manish Kumar won bronze medals in the Commonwealth Chess Championships on held in Delhi on Tuesday.

Kiran Manisha Mohanty of Odisha won a bronze medal in the Women’s Championship.

Three other champions of the state, Sambit Panda, Siddhant Mohapatra and Yashita Rout also brought laurels for their excellent performances.

International Master P Karthikeyan became the Commonwealth Chess Champion 2018. Karthikeyan nailed former national champion G Akash.

The Women’s Championship was won by Tania Sachdev after beating Shantanu Bhambure in the final round. Mahalakshmi M won the silver and Kiran Manisha Mohanty won the bronze medal.

India dominated in the all the categories as Indian players won 11 out of the total 14 gold medals.

FIDE vice president DV Sundar, Commonwealth Chess Association president Bharat Singh Chauhan, well known chess trainer Jacob Aagaard and senior advocate of Supreme Court, SK Verma gave away the cash prizes and medals in a grand ceremony.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.