Detention Of BJP MPs: Centre Issues Privilege Notice To Odisha’s Sambalpur Collector & SP

Bhubaneswar: The Central government has issued breach of privilege notices to Odisha’s Sambalpur collector and SP in connection with detention of Union Minister and MP.

The Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions issued the privilege notices after a delegation of BJP MPs sought the attention of the Lok Sabha Speaker to their detention at Thelkoli police station in the city while they were going to meet the victims of violence on April 18.

The MPs including Suresh Pujari, Jual Oram and Basant Panda alleged breach of privilege by Sambalpur collector Ananya Das and SP B Gangadhar and demanded action against them. The Sambalpur police had detained BJP leaders including Union Minister Bishwesar Tudu, Bargarh MP Suresh Pujari and BJP president of Odisha Manmohan Samal.

While issuing the previlege notice, the Ministry has sought a report from the officers within 15 days.

It may be noted that the BJP delegation was going to meet several persons who were injured in stone pelting while they were carrying out a bike rally ahead of Hanuman Jayanti in the city.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.