FIFA 2018: All About Teams, Matches, Players And More 

New Delhi: For all football fans, the month-long sports extravaganza is here! The 2018 edition of FIFA World Cup, which begins on Thursday, will see 32 teams fighting for glory.

Host Russia will begin the campaign and take on Saudi Arabia in the opener.

Odishabytes decodes the World Cup for you.

Number of teams – 32 countries

Number of groups – 8 groups with 4 teams each

Tournament Format – Knock-out after group stage

Group-wise teams

Group A: Russia, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Uruguay
Group B: Portugal, Spain, Morocco, Iran
Group C: France, Australia, Peru, Denmark
Group D: Argentina, Iceland, Croatia, Nigeria
Group E: Brazil, Switzerland, Costa Rica, Serbia
Group F: Germany, Mexico, Sweden, South Korea
Group G: Belgium, Panama, Tunisia, England
Group H: Poland, Senegal, Colombia, Japan

Players to watch out for

Lionel Messi (Argentina)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)

Neymar (Brazil)

Thomas Muller (Germany)

Luis Suarez (Uruguay)

Young players to watch out for

Niklas Sule (Germany)


Timo Werner (Germany)

Jordan Pickford (England)

Interesting Facts

This is the first time Russia is playing host to the football World Cup.

The 2018 mascot ‘Zabivaka,’ a wolf, has been designed by a student.

The matches will be held in 11 cities and 12 stadiums.

Only Brazil and Italy have won twice in a row.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.