First Polls After INDIA Bloc Formation: Opposition Group Wins 4 Seats, BJP 3

New Delhi: Every election during the build-up to next year’s big Lok Sabha polls is crucial, be it bylections or upcoming state Assembly contests.

In the latest polls, seven constituencies in different states voted in byelections on Tuesday. These were especially important as it was the first time Indian voters were making a choice since the formation of the 28-party INDIA bloc.

The counting took place today, and the results gave the Opposition something to cheer about as the INDIA alliance won 4 seats and the BJP 3.

BJP candidates were elected from Dhanpur and Boxanagar assembly seats in Tripura as well as Bageswhar in Uttarakhand. The Opposition bloc reigned supreme in Uttar Pradesh’s Ghosi, Jharkhand’s Dumri, Puthupally in Kerala and Dhupguri in West Bengal.

In the lone UP constituency where bypoll was held, the Samajwadi Party candidate beat his BJP opponent by 42,000 votes in Ghosi.

Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) candidate Bebi Devi won the Dumri assembly seat, Trinamool Congress (TMC) wrested the Dhugpuri constituency from BJP and Congress-UDF alliance’s Chandy Oommen won Puthuppally byelection.

Of the seven seats that went to polls, Dhanpur, Dhupguri and Bageshwar were held by the BJP; Ghosi was held by SP; Jharkhand seat was held by JMM; Tripura’s Boxanagar seat was with CPM; Kerala’s Puthupally with the Congress.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.