First Ramayana Yatra Train Starts Today: Check Details, More Trains In Coming Days

New Delhi: The first ‘Ramayana Yatra’ train, one of several planned by the Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation (IRCTC) to promote religious tourism in the country, will leave from Safdarjung railway station here on Sunday.

During its 17-day journey, the train will cover many prominent locations, including Ayodhya, Sitamarhi and Chitrakoot, associated with the life of Lord Ram, the IRCTC said.

The deluxe AC train offers two types of accommodation — 1st AC and 2nd AC. For security, there are CCTV cameras and guards in each coach. The train also has two fine dining restaurants, a modern kitchen and shower cubicles, the IRCTC, the e-ticketing arm of Indian Railways, said.

Following are more details about the trains:

* Shri Ramayana Yatra Express-Madurai

It will depart on November 16. Booking has started on the official website,

It will be a budget train. The train will start from Madurai with boarding points at Dindigul, Tiruchchirappalli, Karur, Erode, Salem, Jolarpettai, Katpadi, Chennai Central, Renigunta and Cuddapah. It will cover Hampi, Nasik, Chitrakoot, Allahabad and Varanasi before returning to Madurai.

* Shri Ramayana Yatra Express-Sri Ganganagar

The train, a 16 nights-17 days package, will depart on November 25. It will also be a budget train targeting tourists of North India.

The train will start from Sri Ganganagar with boarding and de-boarding points at Abohar-Malout, Bhatinda, Barnala, Patiala, Rajpura, Ambala Cantt., Kurukshethra, Karnal, Panipat, Delhi Cantt, Gurgaon, Rewari, Alwar, Jaipur, Agra Fort, Itawah and Kanpur.

It will cover Ayodhya, Sitamarhi, Janakpur, Varanasi, Prayagraj and Chitrakoot, Nasik, Hampi, Rameswaram and Kanchipuran before returning to Sri Ganganagar.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.