Five Ex-MLAs Quit Congress With Ghulam Nabi Azad; Will He Form New Party?

New Delhi: Five former Congress MLAs have quit the party in solidarity with Ghulam Nabi Azad who resigned earlier in the day, blaming Rahul Gandhi for destroying the consultative mechanism of the party.

Ghulam Muhammad Saroori, Haji Abdul Rashid, Mohammad Amin Bhatt, Gulzar Ahmad Wani, Chaudhary Akram Mohd and Salman Nizami have resigned from the primary membership of the party, India Today reported.

Meanwhile, Ghulam Nabi Azad is likely to launch a new party, NDTV reported.

The former Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister was quoted as saying he would like to launch his party on his home turf.

“I will go to Jammu and Kashmir. I will form my own party in the state, will check on the national possibility later,” he was quoted as telling India Today.

Elections are due in Jammu and Kashmir later this year.


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.