Former Odisha Chief Secy Asit Tripathy Wins 3rd Term As Bhubaneswar Club President

Bhubaneswar: Retired bureaucrat Asit Kumar Tripathy was elected as president of Bhubaneswar Club, Odisha’s premier recreational facility for the elites, for the third consecutive term on Sunday.

A former chief secretary of Odisha, Tripathy defeated Tapesh Roy in a direct contest by securing 921 votes of 1136 votes polled. Roy polled 207 votes in the election, sources said.

Tripathy has been serving as Principal Advisor to Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik and Chairman of Western Odisha Development Council since he retired in December 2020.

Last year, he had defeated his nearest rival Satya Prakash Nanda, also a retired IAS officer, by securing 858 votes of 1054 votes polled. In 2021, Tripathy had won the election by defeating his nearest rival Bijay Kumar Patnaik, a former chief secretary, by a comfortable 278 votes.

Along with Tripathy, his entire team won the election. Ashok Kumar Mishra has been elected as the honorary secretary defeating his nearest rival Sanjib Kumar Bala.

While Pragati Mohanty won the Vice-President election, Parthajeet Patnaik emerged as the winner for the Joint Secretary post.

Similarly, Debabrat Biswal, P V Mohan, Manas Ranjan Dash, Sanjay Lath, Prasant Nath and Tutul Kishore Das have been elected as new executive committee members of the club, the sources added.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.