Former Odisha MLA Manoranjan Sethi Quits BJP & Returns To BJD After 10 Years

Baripada: Senior leader and former Odisha MLA Manorajnan Sethi returned to Biju Janata Dal (BJD) on Friday after quitting Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) ahead of the Lok Sabha and Assembly elections in the state.

Sethi, who was elected to the Assembly from Badasahi constituency in Mayurbhanj district in 2009, had quit the regional party following denial of ticket in the 2014 elections. He had subsequently joined BJP.

Around ten years after leaving the ruling party, the former legislator formally returned to BJD at a special programme in the presence of a host of senior leaders.

His return to the ruling party is seen as a significant development with political observers stating that the move would further strengthen BJD’s base in the tribal-dominated district.

Among others, BJD co-observer Janmejaya Lenka, Rajya Sabha MP Mamata Mahanta, Morada MLA Rajkishore Das and district council chairperson Bharati Hansda were present at the programme.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.