Four Odisha Districts Among 116 In India To Be Covered Under Garib Kalyan Rojgar Abhiyan

New Delhi: A total of 116 districts — including four from Odisha — across six states will be brought under the Rs 50,000 crore Garib Kalyan Rojgar Abhiyan to be launched by Prime Minister Narendra Modi from Bihar’s Khagaria district on June 20 (Saturday).

Explaining the programme, Union Finance minister Nirmala Sitharaman said that livelihood will be provided through 25 different works and schemes to migrants who have returned to these districts.

As many as 25,000 returnee migrant workers in Bihar, Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Jharkhand and Odisha will benefit. The  chosen 116 districts include 27 ‘aspirational’ districts.

The campaign, covering 125 days, will work in mission mode and involve intensified and focused implementation of 25 types of works to provide employment to migrant workers on one hand and create infrastructure in rural regions on the other.

The Finance Minister added that the campaign will have a resource envelope of Rs 50,000 crore.

It will be a coordinated effort among 12 ministries and departments — Rural Development, Panchayati Raj, Road Transport & Highways, Mines, Drinking Water & Sanitation, Environment, Railways, Petroleum & Natural Gas, New & Renewable Energy, Border Roads, Telecom and Agriculture.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.