Govt orders relief measures with 8 dists recording heavy rainfall

Bhubaneswar: The state government has directed collectors of eight districts, battered by rain in the past 24 hours, to initiate measures to provide relief in the affected areas.

The depression over the Bay of Bengal caused heavy rainfall in at least 25 blocks of Balasore, Jagatsinghpur, Jajpur, Khordha, Mayurbhanj, Nayagarh, Puri and Rayagada districts. An average rainfall of 160.952 mm was recorded in these blocks till 8 am on Friday.

While Kanas block in Puri recorded maximum 274 mm rain, it was 217 mm in Khunta and Gopabandhunagar of Mayurbhanj. Chilika and Tirtol registered 207 mm and 200 mm rainfall respectively.

As per norms, if any place records rainfall above 124.5 mm, the government can undertake relief measures and order for repair of public infrastructure out of State Disaster Response Fund.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.