I-Day Snapshots: Govt Plans Unique Event During Flag Hoisting At Red Fort

New Delhi: The nation is all set celebrate its 75th Independence Day on Sunday. A day ahead on Saturday, the government announced the schedule of events lined up at Red Fort in Delhi to mark the occasion.

According to a release by the Defence Ministry, Prime Minister Narendra Modi will lead the nation in celebrating this historic day. The PM will hoist the National Flag and deliver the customary ‘Address to the Nation’.

Here’s a brief look at some of the other events lined up for the historic day:

Yearlong Celebrations

Earlier in March, the PM had launched ‘Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav’ from Sabarmati Ashram in Ahmedabad, Gujarat to celebrate 75 years of India’s Independence. The celebrations will continue till August 15, 2023.

First Petal Shower

For the first time ever this year, two Mi 17 1V helicopters of the Indian Air Force will shower petals at the venue as soon as the National Flag is hoisted by the Prime Minister. Wing Commander Baldev Singh Bisht will command the first helicopter and Wing Commander Nikhil Mehrotra the second chopper.

Assistance To PM

Lt Commander P Priyambada Sahoo will assist the Prime Minister in hoisting the National Flag. It will be synchronised with the 21 Gun Salute fired by the gunners of the elite 2233 Field Battery (Ceremonial). The ceremonial battery will be commanded by Lt Col Jitendra Singh Mehta.

Rashtriya Salute

After being hoisted, the Tricolour will receive a ‘Rashtriya Salute’. The Navy Band, consisting of 16 men will play the National Anthem during hoisting of the National Flag and the ‘Rashritya Salute’.

Olympians Invited

Neeraj Chopra, India’s first ever gold medallist in track and field, and 31 other Olympic winners along with two Sports Authority of India (SAI) officials have been invited to participate in the celebrations at the Red Fort. Around 240 Olympians, support staff and SAI & sports federation officials have also been invited to grace the Gyan Path in front of the ramparts.

Guard of Honour

The Guard of Honour contingent for the PM will consist of one officer and 20 men each from the Army, Navy, Air Force and Delhi Police. The Indian Navy is the coordinating service this year. The Guard of Honour will be commanded by Commander Piyush Gaur.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.