India Create History; Demolish Australia To Win Test Series Down Under After 37 Years


Melbourne: India made history on Sunday by defeating Australia in a test series on its own soil in 37 years, retaining the Border-Gavaskar trophy.

Captain Virat Kohli’s side beat the Australian by 137 runs to take 2-1 lead in the four-match series.

No matter the result in last test in Sydney, the Indians will hold on to trophy having won the previous series between the two sides in 2017.

With this emphatic win, India now has taken the pole position among the test playing nations with a rating of 116.

Final Score:

443-7 dec and 106-8 dec

151 and 261

On the fifth and final day, it took only 27 balls to win the series as Jasprit Bumrah (3/53) and Ishant Sharma (2/40) winded up the Australian innings to notch the 150th test victory.

India thus won a test series at the historic MCG ground after 37 long years when Sunil Gavaskar’s team beat Greg Chappel’s side in the 1980-81 series.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.