Infighting Surfaces In Odisha Congress, Own Leaders Blamed For Jharsuguda Bypoll Debacle

Jharsuguda: After its humiliating defeat in Jharsuguda Assembly bypoll, infighting in Congress came to the fore in Odisha on Monday with some party leaders beign blamed for the debacle.

Addressing a press meet, leaders of Jharsuguda unit of Congress alleged that Cuttack Barabati MLA Mohammed Moquim and senior leader Chiranjib Biswal were responsible for the dismal show put up by the party in the by-election.

Accusing the two leaders of making anti-party remarks, Jharsuguda district president Ashok Mishra alleged that both Biswal and Moquim made adverse statements when the party was gearing up for Jharsuguda by-election. Their remarks severalyu affected the party’s performance, he claimed.

Despite enjoying all powers, the way the two leaders criticised the party on May 7 is unacceptable as their statements indicated that they are associated with some other political parties.

After being denied party’s state president post, Moquim has been indulging in such activities, Mishra alleged, seeking strict action against both Biswal and Moquim.

He also came down heavily on BJD MLA Soumya Ranjan Patnaik, who was earlier on Congress. Soumya
fought for chit-fund scam victims when he was in Congress, but he is not silent.

Tarun Pandey, who was Congress candidate for Jharsuguda bypoll, said the party’s slogan for the by-election was – ‘Mati Ra Pua. But, we did not succeed. However, we respect voters’ mandate.”

It may be noted here that BJD’s Deepali Das won the bypoll getting 1,07,198 votes while the BJP polled 58,477 votes. Congress nominee Tarun Pandey lost his deposits with 4,496 votes.


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.