IWL 2023-24 Roll Of Honour: Odisha Dominates Winners’ List; Check Here

New Delhi: Odisha dominated the Indian Women’s League (IWL) 2023-24 honours’ list released by All India Football Federation on Thursday.

Besides pocketing Rs 10 lakh for emerging champions, Odisha FC also picked up the awards for Best Goalkeeper (Shreya Hooda), Best Midfielder (Indumathi Kathiresan) and for Best Media Operations.

Sports Odisha, the other team in the league from the state, was acknowledged for Best Match Organisation.

Seasoned international Indumathi, Odisha FC’s captain, was rewarded for her consistent performances throughout the season.

“I am extremely happy to win the (best midfielder) award. But it is not an individual achievement. I wouldn’t have achieved it without the help of my teammates and coaches. We are like a family in Odisha FC. What gives me more pleasure is that I am the captain of Odisha FC this season,” said Indumathi, who was declared the best player last season playing for Gokulam Kerala FC.

“I think I did my job well as the captain. As the leader and one of the senior players, it was my duty to play well and guide the juniors. This season, we had lots of junior players. They might look at me as a role model and do well in the future. There lies my success,” the talented midfielder said.

IWL 2023-24 AWARDS

Winners: Odisha FC (Rs 10,00,000)

Runners-up: Gokulam Kerala FC (Rs 5,00,000)

Best Match Organisation: Sports Odisha (Rs 50,000)

Participating Club with The Best Media Operations: Odisha FC (Rs 50,000)

Best Striker (13 goals): Fazila Ikwaput – Gokulam Kerala FC (Rs 50,000)

Best Goalkeeper: Shreya Hooda – Odisha FC (Rs 50,000)

Best Defender: Hemam Shilky Devi – Gokulam Kerala FC (Rs 50,000)

Best Midfielder: Indumathi Kathiresan – Odisha FC (Rs 50,000).

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.