Jharsuguda Bypoll In Odisha: BJP Candidate To File Nomination On April 17

Bhubaneswar: BJP candidate Tankadhra Tripathy is set to file his nomination for the by-election to Jharsuguda Assembly constituency in Odisha on April 17.

A host of senior leaders including BJP state president Manmohan Samal, former state party chief Samir Mohanty, Bargarh MP Suresh Pujari and MLAs will accompany Tripathy during filing of papers in Jharsuguda for the May 10 bypoll.

Stating that Tripathy will proceed to file his papers in a procession, state BJP general secretary Golak Mohapatra said leaders of nearby areas are also likely to join the procession in which a large number of supporters are expected to participate.

Tripathy is a former president of BJP Yuva Morcha and currently a party state secretary. The 41-year-old law graduate started his political career with ABVP as a student leader and has been politically active in Jharsuguda, his native place.

While Congress nominee Tarun Pandey filed his nomination on Saturday, the ruling BJD has fielded Deepali Das, daughter of slain minister Naba Kishore Das whose murder necessitated the bypoll.

While the last date of filing nomination papers is April 20, scrutiny of papers is slated to be held on April 21.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.