Journalists Maria Ressa & Dmitry Muratov Win 2021 Nobel Peace Prize

Bhubaneswar: Journalists Maria Ressa, of the Philippines, and Dmitry Muratov, of Russia, have won this year’s Nobel Peace Prize “for their efforts to safeguard freedom of expression, which is a precondition for democracy and lasting peace”.

The announcement for the award, one of the world’s top accolades, was made on Friday by the Norwegian Nobel Committee in Oslo, Norway.

Last year’s prize went to the World Food Programme for its efforts to combat hunger and food insecurity around the globe.

The winners of the prestigious prize, worth 10m Swedish krona (£836,000; $1.1m), were announced at the Norwegian Nobel Institute in Oslo. They were chosen out of 329 candidates.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.