Karnataka Goes To Poll On May 12

Reading Time: < 1 minute

New Delhi: The Assembly elections in Karnataka will be held on May 12, Chief Election Commissioner OP Rawat announced. The results for the single phase elections for 224-member Assembly, will be declared three days later on May 15.

The poll notification will be issued on April 17, while the last date of filing nomination will be on April 24, the CEC added. Candidates will be allowed to withdraw names by April 27.

The election will be crucial as Karnataka is the only big state where Congress has held its ground firm. BJP, on the other hand, will look to uproot the Congress and virtually throw them out of power from all the major states. 
Ahead of the announcement, the election dates were allegedly leaked and the CEC said stringent legal action will be taken against the guilty after an investigation.



Comments are closed.