Kejriwal Takes Oath As Delhi CM For Third Term


New Delhi: Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) national convener Arvind Kejriwal started his third term as the Chief Minister of Delhi after taking the oath of office at the historic Ramlila Maidan on Sunday.

Six cabinet ministers, including Kejriwal’s trusted deputy Manish Sisodia, were also administered the oath by Delhi Lieutenant Governor Anil Baijal. The six ministers are Satyender Jain, Gopal Rai, Kailash Gehlot, Imran Hussain and Rajendra Gautam.

“This is not my win; this is the victory of every Delhiite, of every family. In the last 5 years, our only effort has been to bring happiness and relief to every Delhiite,” the CM said addressing the people after taking oath.

“The elections are over and it doesn’t matter who you voted for, now all Delhiites are my family. I will work for everyone, be it from any party, any religion, caste or strata of society,” Kejriwal said.

The AAP chief claimed he had invited Prime Minister Narendra Modi for the oath taking, but the latter was busy and couldn’t attend the event. “I seek PM Modi’s blessings to take Delhi ahead and make it a world class city. We want to work with the Centre for Delhi’s progress,” he added.

Security was tightened and special traffic arrangements were made for the event. According to the AAP, over 50,000 people attended the event. Nearly 45,000 chairs were installed at Ramlila Maidan and as many as 12 large LED screens were installed so that people can witness the oath-taking of Kejriwal and his cabinet.

In the just held Assembly election, the AAP pulled a stunning victory by bagging 62 of the 70 Assembly seats. The BJP won the remaining eight seats and the Congress drew a blank.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.