Naveen Inaugurates District Science Centres & Planetariums In Several Places

Bhubaneswar: Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Wednesday inaugurated district science centres and planetariums in several districts on the occasion of National Science Day.

The Chief Minister inaugurated the district science centre (DSC) at Jeypore in Koraput, planetarium in Rayagada and DSC and planetarium at Ghatagaon in Keonjhar and Baripada in Mayrubhanj through video-conferencing.

He also laid foundation stone for construction of DSC in Kalahandi, Boudh, Kendrapada, Jharsuguda, Gajapati, Nuapada and Jagatsinghpur districts.

Naveen said his government was committed to open DSC in every district to popularise science and promote application of scientific technology. It has also been decided to open planetariums and innovation centre in schools, he added.

“I want to see school students of our state standing in front line in science and technology in the country. Their competence and skill in these fields will help achieve New Odisha,” he said.

The government has targeted to construct each district science centre with a cost of Rs 6.5 crore and planetarium with Rs 15 crore.

Science and Technology Minister Ashok Chandra Panda also spoke on the occasion while 5T chairman VK Pandian coordinated the programme.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.