New BJP MPs From Odisha Take Oath In Odia, Santhali, Sanskrit & …… [Watch]

New Delhi: The BJP MPs from Odisha, including Baijayant Panda, Aparajita Sarangi, and Sambit Patra – took oath as members of the 18th Lok Sabha in Odia language on Tuesday.

This year, linguistic diversity was on display with the newly-elected MPs taking their oaths in English and other languages listed in the Eighth Schedule of the Constitution.

Most of the BJP MPs from Odisha, where the party swept the Lok Sabha poll on ‘Odia Asmita’ poll plank by winning 20 of 21 seats, took oath in their state language and ended it with ‘Jai Jagannath, Jai Bharat, Bande Utkala Janani’. They were among the remaining 281 new members, who were scheduled to take oath on Tuesday. A total of 262 newly elected MPs, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, took oath on Monday, the inaugural session of the 18th Lok Sabha.

Besides Odia, Balasore MP Pratap Sarangi took oath in Sanskrit and Mayurbhanj MP Naba Charan Majhi in Santhali dialect. Berhampur MP Pradeep Kumar Panigrahy and Kalahandi Malvika Devi, however, took oath in English and invoked Lord Jagannath and presiding deities of their regions.

Taking to his X handle, Puri MP Sambit wrote: “I am committed to the development of Puri Lok Sabha constituency and to fulfiling the grand vision of building ‘Developed India’ under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.”

Some Of The Other MPs Who Took Oath Today

On Monday, Union Ministers Dharmendra Pradhan and Jual Oram also took oath in Odia.  “While taking oath today, memories of the first day and the proud feeling of entering the Lok Sabha as a first-time member came afresh. Driven by the spirit of service and public welfare, I will continue to serve the people of Odisha and become their voice, particularly my constituents of Sambalpur, who are dear to my heart. Seeking the blessings of Lord Jagannath and Maa Samlei!” Dharmendra, who is an MP from Sambalpur, posted on X.

A six-time member of Parliament from Sundargarh, Jual in his social media post said, “Took oath as a Member of Parliament for 18th Lok Sabha and shall continue to serve the nation with best of my abilities.”



Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.