Notification Issued For RS Polls In Odisha

Bhubaneswar: In pursuance of the notification by the Election Commission of India (ECI) for polling for 55 Rajya Sabha seats in 17 states on March 26, the Odisha Assembly Secretariat on Friday issued a notification for election to four seats vacated by Anubhav Mohanty, Ranjib Biswal, Narendra Swain and Sarojini Hembram, whose term is due to expire on April 2.

Briefing mediapersons, Odisha Assembly secretary and Returning Officer Dasarathi Satpathy said that the candidate will file nomination papers at the Assembly conference hall between 11 am and 3 pm from March 6 while the last date of filing the nominations is March 13.

The scrutiny of the nomination papers will be done at 11.30 am on March 16 and withdrawal of the candidature by 3 pm on March 18.

Polling will be conducted between 9 am and 4 pm at the Assembly Committee room no-14, Satpathy said.

To conduct the polls, the ECI on March 4 had appointed Satpathy as the Returning Officer and 1995-batch IAS officer and Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Sushil Kumar Lohani as the observer.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.