Nua-O Football Tournament: Cuttack Champion In Men Category, Kendrapada In Women

Bhubaneswar: Cuttack lifted the champion’s trophy in men’s category and Kendrapada in women’s category in the Nua-O State Football tournament that concluded in Bhubaneswar on Monday.

Sports Minister Tusharkanti Behera; Bhubaneswar (Central) MLA Ananta Narayan Jena; ⁠Honorary Secretary, FAO, Asirbad Behera; Sports Director Siddhartha Das; President, Odisha FC, Raj Athawal, Rohan Sharma and officials of DSYS attended the concluding ceremony.

In the women’s category, Kendrapada emerged champion with a win over Sundargarh, following a thrilling penalty shootout. Jajpur and Jharsuguda secured third and fourth place respectively. Sarojini Tirkey from Sundargarh was awarded as the most outstanding player.

In the men’s category, Cuttack defeated Khordha 3-0 in the final to secure the title. Sundargarh finished third and Kandhamal fourth. Cuttack’s Bikash Kumar Sahoo received the most outstanding player award.

The champion team in each category was awarded Rs 2 lakh, runners-up Rs 1 lakh, while Rs 50,000 each was awarded to the third and fourth place team. The most outstanding player award came with a cash prize of Rs 10,000.

As many as 30 teams took part in the 12-day tournament that was organised by the Sports and Youth Services department.

The competition began with the block level and then proceeded to the district and state level. The tournament was conceptualised as part of the Nua Odisha initiative that endeavors to engage youth across the state through the mediums of sports and arts.

Notably, the Nua Odisha initiative also features hockey, cricket, kho-kho, volleyball and kabaddi.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.