Odisha: BJD President Appoints 7-Member Committee For Cooperative Elections

Bhubaneswar: Ahead of the cooperative societies election, Biju Janata Dal (BJD) president and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik held a meeting with senior party leaders via video conference on Monday.

Besides discussing the roadmap, a 7-member committee headed by Pratap Deb has been formed for election management. The elections are scheduled to be held in two phases in June 2022.

Naveen said: “The state committee should take a review of the Zonal Committees and the district committees once a week till we go for the primary and apex level elections and submit their weekly observation regarding our preparedness, progress and prospects for my perusal.”

The Cooperation Department has notified June 19 and 26 for the first phase of elections for members of the primary cooperative societies of the state. Elections will be held in 7,076 primary cooperative societies with a membership of over 30 lakh. Elections to the central and apex cooperatives will be held in the next phase.


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.