Odisha BJP Expels 7 Rebel Leaders Including Kalu Khandayatray For ‘Anti-Party’ Activities

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha BJP unit on Saturday expelled seven of its disgruntled members, including Kalu Charan Khandayatray who is contesting from Khurda Assembly constituency as an independent candidate, from the party.

The expelled leaders include Jhansirani Das of Anandapur Assembly constituency, Jugal Kishore Nayak of Karanjia, Bijay Kumar Dalabehera of Badamba, Dr Harish Sahu of Athagarh, Kamakhya Pradhan of Satyabadi, Satyapriya Behera of Jayadeb Assembly constituency and party’s state working committee member Kalu Charan Khandayatray.

In a statement issued to the press, the media cell of the saffron party said the members were expelled on the order of state president Manmohan Samal for anti-party activities.

The expulsion order came five days after Khandayatray filed his nomination papers as an independent from the Assembly constituency. He resigned from BJP on April 30 after the party fielded Prashant Jagdev from Khurda. He had then accused Bhubaneswar MP Aparajita Sarangi of having sold the ticket for Rs 2 crore. He also vowed to ensure her defeat in Bhubaneswar, from where she is seeking re-elections for a second term.

In March, his supporters had also created a ruckus in the party office after Aparajita hinted at Jagdev’s name for the seat.


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.