Odisha Bypoll: BJP Performs Yajna For Suryabanshi Suraj’s Victory In Dhamnagar

Bhadrak: Members of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) performed a yajna at Maa Bhadrakali temple in Odisha’s Bhadrak district for the victory of party candidate Suryabanshi Suraj in Dhamnagar Assembly bypoll.

According to sources, state BJP president Samir Mohanty, senior leader Manmohan Samal, MP and former Union Minister Pratap Sarangi, state general secretary Golak Mahapatra and MLA Lalitendu Bidyadhar Mahapatra were present at the temple.

Also present were senior party leader Budhan Murmu, state secretary and district in-charge Kalandi Samal, spokesperson Biranchi Narayan Tripathi, Thakur Ranjit Das and other prominent leaders.

Meanwhile, 52.13 % of eligible voters had cast their votes in the by-election by 3 pm as polling for the by-election was in progress.

The voting for the bypoll to Dhamnagar Assembly Constituency in Odisha’s Bhadrak district began at 7 am and will come to an end at 6 pm. A total of 2,38,417 voters will seal the fate of five candidates– Abanti Das (BJD), Suryabanshi Suraj (BJP), Baba Harekrushna Sethi (Congress), Rajendra Kumar Das (Independent) and Pabitra Mohan Das (Independent).

Among the 252 booths, 110 have been declared sensitive, and webcasting has been arranged in 126 booths, officials said. There are 15 model booths and five pink booths, which have women security personnel and polling officials.

A strict warning has been given that anyone who violates the law may be arrested. Around 25 micro-observers have been appointed for this purpose.

Also Read: Odisha Bypoll: BJP Alleges Rigging By Ruling BJD In Dhamnagar

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.